Sharon Shinn
Home Bio Books News FAQ Links Contact
Turning Seasons
Stand Alone Novels: Alibi, Shuddering City, Heart of Gold, Jenna Starborn, Summers at Castle Auburn, Wrapt in Crystal,
The Shape-Changer's Wife
, Quatrain, Shattered Warrior

troubled waters

barnes & noble

fairwood press

Quatr“Sharon Shinn creates a rich world balanced on the edge of disaster, with evocative, engaging characters, each with a piece of a desperately vital mystery to unravel.”— Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries 

The Shuddering City
In the city of Corcannon, everyone has a secret.

Madeleine is planning her wedding to Tivol, but she’s really in love with Reese.

Jayla has become the guardian of a child named Aussen, but she knows that Aussen possesses a mysterious and dangerous power.

Brandon is a temple soldier keeping the enigmatic Villette a prisoner in her own home, but he finds himself risking everything to keep her safe.

Pietro is pretending he’s surprised every time the city is wracked by tremors, but he’ll do anything to stop the devastation.

Even Corcannon itself has a secret. It's built on a lie, and that lie is about to come tumbling down.

Click here to download a printable version of the map.

Publishing history:
Published in trade paperback and e-book by Fairwood Press in November 2022
Released as an audiobook in March 2024

Interesting tidbits:
My working title for the book was Quatrefoil, but no one could pronounce it, not even me.

My favorite scene:
Maybe Chapter Eighteen, when Brandon gives Villette her gift. Or maybe Chapter Twenty-Three, when Pietro finally puts the pieces together for Jayla. But I do love the last few pages, too.


jQuery Slider